Michael Brough: 25 Picture-Preludes for Piano, Op. 19

Late in 2013 the English pianist, organist and composer (and solicitor) Michael Brough, born in Yorkshire in 1960, sat down at his piano and began to improvise the first of what would become 25 Picture-Preludes, in the major and minor keys. Like Rachmaninov’s Études-Tableaux and Medtner’s Skazki, these short pieces are intended to stimulate a response in the listener’s imagination – and Rachmaninov and Medtner are audible influences on Brough’s bluesy, late-Romantic musical language.

Michael Brough, piano

(3 customer reviews)

Catalogue No: TOCC0490
EAN/UPC: 506011344905
Release Date: 01.07.2018
Composer: Michael Brough
Artists: Michael Brough

Listen To This Recording:

    25 Picture-Preludes for Piano, Op. 19

  1. No. 1 in B minor
  2. No. 2 in D major
  3. No. 3 in F major
  4. No. 4 in D minor
  5. No. 5 in F minor
  6. No. 6 in A flat major
  7. No. 7 in G minor
  8. No. 8 in B flat major
  9. No. 9 in G sharp minor
  10. No. 10 in B major
  11. No. 11 in C minor
  12. No. 12 in E flat major
  13. No. 13, no key
  14. No. 14 in F sharp major
  15. No. 15 in E flat minor
  16. No. 16 in G major
  17. No. 17 in E minor
  18. No. 18 in A major
  19. No. 19 in F sharp minor
  20. No. 20 in C major
  21. No. 21 in A minor
  22. No. 22 in E major
  23. No. 23 in C sharp minor
  24. No. 24 in B flat minor for the left hand only
  25. No. 25 in D flat major


3 reviews for Michael Brough: 25 Picture-Preludes for Piano, Op. 19

  1. :

    This is an amazing album, you can feel the passion in each piece of music. Michael is a genius.

  2. :

    Amazing album, you can hear the passion as Michael plays each piece of music. A very talented man.

  3. :

    Thoroughly enjoyed this lovely CD by the very talented pianist, organist and composer Michael Brough. Had previously seen him perform a recital in London a few years ago and was greatly impressed by his amazing keyboard playing and the beautiful way he connected with each piece. I feel this has been captured on this recording as both Michael and the extended range Bosendorfer 290 sound absolutely amazing. Hugely talented and hopefully there is more to come. Highly recommended !!!

Add a review

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.