Manuel Cardoso: Complete Masses, Volume One

Catalogue No: TOCC0498
EAN/UPC: 5060113444981
Release Date: 2021-12-03
Composer: Manuel Cardoso
Artists: Simon Lloyd, The Choir of the Carmelite Priory London

Manuel Cardoso (1566–1650) was one of the most important composers of the golden age of Portuguese polyphony around the turn of the seventeenth century. But history has not been kind to him: the 1755 Lisbon earthquake that ruined the Convento do Carmo, where he spent most of his working life, also resulted in the loss of the only attested image of the composer and a good deal of his music – and much of that which survived has been neglected, his Masses included. This series will shed long-overdue light on these forgotten masterpieces, beginning with two ‘parody’ Masses, so called because they are based on existing music, in this instance two Palestrina motets.

The Choir of the Carmelite Priory, London
Simon Lloyd, director


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Manuel Cardoso: Complete Masses, Volume One”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *