Oleg Komarnitsky: Chamber and Instrumental Music

Discovery Club Members Save 30%!
Login or Join Today

Catalogue No: TOCC0196
EAN/UPC: 5060113441966
Release Date: 2013-07-01
Composer: Oleg Komarnitsky
Artists: David Jones, London Piano Trio, Olga Dudnik, Robert Atchison

In his short life the Moscow-born Oleg Komarnitsky (1946-98) produced music in a wide variety of genres — orchestral, choral, chamber, instrumental and more, not least works for children — but almost none of it has been recorded before; it wasn't even heard outside Russia before 1996. Komarnitsky's music is accessible and lyrical, with the Slavic melancholy which colours the string works here (apparently all that survives of his chamber music) balanced by the buoyant and innocent humour of his piano music, with its echoes of Prokofiev and Shostakovich.

London Piano Trio, piano trio
Robert Atchison, violin
David Jones, cello
Olga Dudnik, piano

Listen To This Recording:

  1. Sonata for Violin and Piano, Alyonushka (1970)
  2. Suite for Piano (1968,75)

  3. No. 1 Autumn
  4. No. 2 Humoresque
  5. No. 3 Mischief
  6. Sonata for Solo Cello in C minor (1973)

  7. I Andante espressivo e poco rubato
  8. II Allegro ma non troppo
  9. Two Pieces for Piano (1974)

  10. No. 1 Joke
  11. No. 2 March of the Chess Pieces
  12. Andante amoroso for violin and piano (1996)
  13. Two Pieces on Swiss Folksongs for Piano (1976)

  14. No. 1 The Flowers Have Gone to Sleep
  15. No. 2 Winter in the Forest
  16. Monologue for solo violin (1995)
  17. Canon: ‘In a Smithy’ (Old Clavecinists’ Style) for piano (1980)
  18. ‘Mockery’ (from Ironic Humoresques) for piano (1981)
  19. Slavonic Capriccio for violin and piano (1969, transcr. 1987)

2 reviews for Oleg Komarnitsky: Chamber and Instrumental Music

  1. :

    ‘I was bowled over by the music on this record and sincerely hope that there is more to be discovered of this composer’s works… I wait with bated breath and great hopes that more from him will emerge.’

    —Steve Arloff, MusicWeb International

  2. :

    What a surprising music! How could it be neglected for so long?

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *