Vladas Jakubėnas: Chamber and Instrumental Music


Catalogue No: TOCC0013
EAN/UPC: 5060113440136
Release Date: 01.10.2012
Composer: Vladas Jakubėnas
Artists: Kasparas Uinskas, Rusnė Mataityė, Vilnius String Quartet

As composer, critic, teacher and musical activist, Vladas Jakubėnas (1904–76) was one of the major cultural figures in pre-World War Two Lithuania, before his post-War exile in the USA. As a student of Schreker in Berlin in 1928–32, he initially wrote in a Neoclassical style – as most of the works on this CD attest – and was nicknamed 'the Lithuanian Hindemith’. Back home, he began to compose in a late-Romantic, gently modernist idiom, tinged with the influence of Lithuanian folk-music.

Vilnius String Quartet, string quartet
Kasparas Uinskas, piano
Rusnė Mataitytė, violin
Edmundas Kulikauskas, cello
Albina Šikšniūtė, piano
St Christopher Chamber Orchestra, chamber orchestra
Donatas Katkus, conductor

Listen To This Recording:

    String Quartet, Op. 4

  1. I. Allegro
  2. II. Adagio non troppo. Allegretto scherzando. Andante mosso. Adagio
  3. Two Pictures, Op. 2, for piano

  4. No. 1 ‘From the Land of Fairytales’
  5. No. 2 ‘Legend’
  6. Melody-Legend for violin and piano
  7. Serenade for cello and piano
  8. Prelude and Triple Fugue in D minor for string orchestra

  9. Prelude
  10. Fugue

1 review for Vladas Jakubėnas: Chamber and Instrumental Music

  1. :

    Beautiful music, well performed and recorded. I very much look forward to the upcoming release of Jakubenas choral works.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.