Hans Winterberg: Chamber Music, Volume One

Discovery Club Members Save 30%!
Login or Join Today

Catalogue No: TOCC0491
EAN/UPC: 5060113444912
Release Date: 2018-11-01
Composer: Hans Winterberg
Artists: Alexander Tentser, Arizona Wind Quintet, Rex Woods, Tannis Gibson, Theodore Buchholz

The case of the composer Hans Winterberg (1901–91) is a strange one. A survivor of the Terezín concentration camp, where he had been interned as a Czech Jew, after the War he settled in Munich as a German citizen, and his music enjoyed a number of broadcasts – but after his death, his estate disappeared into the vaults of the Sudeten German Music Institute, where it was placed under embargo, emerging only in 2015. This first album of his music reveals an unusual and individual voice, an idiosyncratic blend of Stravinsky, Janáček and Hindemith, with touches of Poulenc, often expressed with brittle humour and rhythmic verve.

Arizona Wind Quintet
Brian Luce, flute (tracks 1–3 and 10–12)
Sara Fraker, oboe (tracks 1–3 and 10–12)
Jackie Glazier, clarinet (1–3 and 10–12)
Daniel Katzen, horn (tracks 10–12)
William Dietz, bassoon (tracks 1–3 and 10–12)
Jackie Glazier, clarinet (tracks 4–6)
Theodore Buchholz, cello (tracks 7–9)
Rex Woods, harpsichord (tracks 1–3), piano (tracks 13–15)
Tannis Gibson, piano (tracks 4–6)
Alexander Tentser, piano (tracks 7–9)

Listen To This Recording:

    Suite for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon and Harpsichord (1959)

  1. I. Lebhaft zügig, leicht
  2. II. Poco con moto
  3. III. Lebhaft
  4. Suite for B flat Clarinet and Piano (1944)

  5. I.
  6. II. Poco grave (non troppo)
  7. III. Presto
  8. Sonata for Cello and Piano (1951)

  9. I. Allegro moderato
  10. II. Mit ausdrucksstarker Bewegung
  11. III. Vivace
  12. Wind Quintet (1957)

  13. I. Leicht fliessend, nicht zu schnell
  14. II. Pastorale
  15. III. Allegro non troppo
  16. Suite for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon and piano (alternative version) (1959)

  17. I. Lebhaft zügig, leicht
  18. II. Poco con moto
  19. III. Lebhaft


1 review for Hans Winterberg: Chamber Music, Volume One

  1. :

    ‘This previously little-known Czech composer emerges as something of an iconoclast in these works. They’re played with biting resonance and power by the excellent instrumentalists. Sometimes critics note that they look forward to the next volume in a series but with a certain weary and detectable sense of duty. Not here: I’m keen to encounter more Winterberg.’

    —Jonathan Woolf, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *