Hans WINTERBERG: Piano Music, Volume One

Discovery Club Members Save 30%!
Login or Join Today

Catalogue No: TOCC0531
EAN/UPC: 5060113445315
Release Date: 2019-09-01
Composer: Hans Winterberg
Artists: Brigitte Helbig

The tale of Hans Winterberg (1901–91) is a strange one. A survivor of the Terezín concentration camp, where he had been interned as a Czech Jew, he settled in Munich after the Second World War as a German citizen, and his music enjoyed a number of broadcasts – but with his death his estate disappeared into a legal limbo, emerging only in 2015. This first album of his piano music reveals an unusual and individual voice, an idiosyncratic blend of Janáček, Ravel, Schoenberg and other mid-twentieth-century masters, animated by a hard-edged, freewheeling energy and grim humour reminiscent of his close contemporary, Nikos Skalkottas.

Brigitte Helbig, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Sonata II (1941)

  1. I Agitato
  2. II Andante sostenuto
  3. III Molto vivace
  4. Four Intermezzi (1929)

  5. No. 1 Breit
  6. No. 2 Leicht, flüchtig
  7. No. 3 Sehr langsam, verträumt
  8. No. 4 Wild, heftig
  9. Suite Theresienstadt (1945)*

  10. I Präludium
  11. II Intermezzo
  12. III Postludium
  13. Suite for Piano (1955)

  14. I Vorspiel
  15. II Passacaglia
  16. III Marsch
  17. IV Bucolica
  18. V Toccata
  19. Seven Neo-Impressionist Pieces in Twelve-Tone (1973)

  20. No. 1 Sehr schnell, leicht fliessend
  21. No. 2 Malinconia, molto moderato
  22. No. 3 Sehr bewegt
  23. No. 4 Vivacissimo
  24. No. 5 Impetuoso
  25. No. 6 Molto movimento
  26. No. 7 Molto vivace, alla toccata



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Hans WINTERBERG: Piano Music, Volume One”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *