Gregory ROSE: Orchestral Music

Catalogue No: TOCC0558
EAN/UPC: 5060113445582
Release Date: 2020-03-06
Composer: Gregory Rose
Artists: Gregory Rose, Peter Sheppard Skærved, Royal Ballet Sinfonia

The English composer and conductor Gregory Rose (b. 1948) here presents a programme of some of his recent orchestral compositions, prefaced by a 90th-birthday tribute to Aaron Copland. Many of these pieces show the influence of Stravinsky in their angular melodies, brittle harmony, hieratic gestures and fondness for dance. Rose’s Violin Concerto, a single span of nine interlocking episodes, has a similar sense of implicit drama: it casts the soloist as the central character whom the instruments of the orchestra engage in dialogue as the work progresses.

Peter Sheppard Skærved, violin (Tracks 7-17, 23)
Royal Ballet Sinfonia
Gregory Rose, conductor

Listen To This Recording:

    Birthday Ode for Aaron Copland (1990)

  1. Birthday Ode for Aaron Copland
  2. Red Planet (2014, rev. 2019)

  3. I Valles Marineris
  4. II Syrtis Major
  5. III Olympus Mons
  6. IV Sirenum Fossae
  7. V Ascraeus Mons
  8. Violin Concerto (2017)

  9. Introduction –
  10. Episode 1: Calm –
  11. Episode 2: Fast –
  12. Episode 3: Fragile –
  13. Episode 4: Aggressive –
  14. Episode 5: Meditative –
  15. Episode 6: Agitated –
  16. Episode 7: Fast and Restless –
  17. Episode 8: Pensive –
  18. Episode 9: Fast and Restless –
  19. Cadenza and Coda
  20. Suite pour Cordes (2017)

  21. I Prélude
  22. II Vite
  23. III Chant
  24. IV Très fort
  25. V Finale
  26. Seven Dances from Danse macabre (2011)

  27. I Dance One
  28. II Dance Two
  29. III Dance Three
  30. IV Dance Four
  31. V Dance Five
  32. VI Dance Six
  33. VII Dance Seven


2 reviews for Gregory ROSE: Orchestral Music

  1. :

    ‘Although his prowess as a choral conductor has long been recognised (his performances with Singcircle of Stockhausen’s Stimmung resonate 35 years on), Gregory Rose had not received his due as a composer until the redoubtable Toccata Classics took up his cause. This third disc focuses on his orchestral output… . Anyone for whom imagination and pragmatism can coexist without compromise will find much to enjoy and intrigue here. … Sound and booklet notes leave nothing to be desired, making this an admirable follow-up to earlier Toccata releases and one that those new to Rose’s music certainly need to investigate.’

    —Richard Whitehouse, Gramophone (July 2020)

  2. :

    The Royal Ballet Sinfonia do the composer proud throughout while Toccata’s sound pulls no punches. […] Admirers of Toccata’s series dedicated to this composer need not hesitate; other fans of new British music will find plenty to turn their heads.’

    —Richard Hanlon, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *