Giuseppe TARTINI: Sonate piccole, Volume Five: Nos. 25–30

Catalogue No: TOCC0454
EAN/UPC: 5060113444547
Release Date: 2019-08-01
Composer: Giuseppe Tartini
Artists: Peter Sheppard Skærved

In the last years of his life, the composer, violinist and swordsman Giuseppe Tartini (1692–1770) laboured at a vast cycle of sonatas for solo violin. The resulting manuscript offers the most important composition for solo violin after Bach and, at six hours in duration, the largest integrated work for the instrument. This first complete recording is based on a fresh study of the source and includes a number of works deciphered from Tartini’s shorthand and overlooked in earlier editions. These ‘Little Sonatas’ tread a delicate line between Baroque formality and proto-Romantic passion, occasionally illuminated with an echo of the folk-fiddling of his Slovenian homeland.

Peter Sheppard Skærved, violin

Listen To This Recording:

    Sonata No. 25 in G Major

  1. I [Siciliano]
  2. II Menuet
  3. III [Giga]
  4. IV Andante
  5. Sonata No. 26 in B flat major

  6. I [Andante]
  7. II [Allegro]
  8. III [Allegro]
  9. IV [Menuet]
  10. V [Andante]
  11. Sonata No. 27 in D minor*

  12. I [Andante]
  13. II Presto
  14. III Giga
  15. IV [Tema con variazioni]
  16. Sonata No. 28 in A minor*

  17. I Andante cantabile
  18. II Allegro
  19. III Allegro
  20. IV [Giga]
  21. V [Tema con variazioni]
  22. Sonata No. 29 in G major*

  23. I [Andante]
  24. II Giga
  25. III Menuet
  26. Sonata No. 30 in E minor*

  27. I Grave
  28. II Andante cantabile
  29. III Giga
  30. IV Minuet
  31. V Presto
  32. VI Aria cantabile
  33. VII [Double/Minuet]
  34. VIII [Allegro]

*First Recordings
First Complete Recordings


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Giuseppe TARTINI: Sonate piccole, Volume Five: Nos. 25–30”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *