George Enescu: The Unknown Enescu, Volume Two

Catalogue No: TOCC0647
EAN/UPC: 5060113446473
Release Date: 2022-11-04
Composer: George Enescu
Artists: Ian Hobson, Sherban Lupu, Sinfonia da Camera, Viorela Ciucur

Although Enescu gave opus numbers to only 33 of his works, he left an enormous number of pieces in varying stages of composition, from sketches and draft outlines to isolated movements and some scores that are almost complete. Working with a handful of composers and musicologists – fellow Romanians with specialist knowledge of Enescu’s style – the violinist Sherban Lupu has produced performing editions of a number of previously unknown works, heard here in the context of other Enescu rarities. One of these ‘rescued’ pieces, hiding behind the modest title of Caprice Roumain, is nothing less than a major violin concerto.

Sherban Lupu, violin
Ian Hobson, piano (Track 1), conductor (Tracks 8–11)
Viorela Ciucur, piano (Tracks 3–7)
Sinfonia da Camera (Tracks 8–11)

Listen To This Recording:

  1. Romanian Rhapsody No. 1 in A major, Op. 11, No. 1 (1901; arr. Marcel Stern, publ. 1957)**
  2. Impressions Roumaines for solo violin (1925; arr. Lupu, 2008)*
  3. Sonata Torso (1911)
  4. Impromptu concertant in G flat major (1903)
  5. Regrets (1898; compl. Lupu, 2018)*
  6. Suite No. 1 in G minor, Dans le style ancien, Op. 3: Adagio (1897; arr. Sandu Albu, 1929)*
  7. Valse lente ‘L’enjoleuse’ (1902)*
  8. Caprice Roumain (1925–49;compl.CornelŢăranu,1994–96)**

  9. I Ben moderato
  10. II Tempo di Hora
  11. III Lento
  12. IV Allegro molto


2 reviews for George Enescu: The Unknown Enescu, Volume Two

  1. :

    ‘This is another valuable disc and far more than merely chippings from the composer’s bench. It traces the young composer back to 1897 and forward to those long-gestating sketches for the Caprice Roumain for which much deconstructing and reconstructing has been necessary given the stylistically divergent material, composed over many years, with which Cornel Ţăranu had to work. These recordings, too, were made over many years, the earliest in 2001 and the most recent in April 2022 when Lupu was joined by pianist Viorela Ciucur. He plays splendidly, as ever, statistically apt and only very occasionally challenged intonationally. Let’s hope there’s more from him and Toccata lined up.’

    —Jonathan Woolf, MusicWeb International

  2. :

    ‘Sherban Lupu has a thorough grasp of the idiom and can toss off the ornaments, slides and ear-tickling passages at the top of the register with the necessary nonchalance. The occasional roughness is part of the idiom. In most of the piano works he is well accompanied by Viorela Ciucur, while Ian Hobson takes the piano part in the Romanian Rhapsody and conducts the Caprice Roumain. These two are live recordings and date from the early 2000s, while the rest were made in the studio in 2022. The recordings are good and the sleevenote, from which I have borrowed, helpful. Enthusiasts will note the number of premiere recordings and need not hesitate; others will also find this rewarding.’

    —Stephen Barber, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *