Ferenc Farkas: Complete Chamber Music for Cello, Volume One

Ferenc Farkas: Complete Chamber Music for Cello, Volume One

Toccata Classics continues its exploration of the music of the Hungarian composer Ferenc Farkas (1905–2000) with this first of two releases of his chamber works for cello. As with previous albums in this series, the music here features the characteristics that make Farkas’ music so appealing: catchy tunes, transparent textures, buoyant rhythms and a fondness for Baroque forms and folk-dances. Some of these pieces speak a tougher language that show Farkas to have been in touch with his times, but it is the infectious melodic appeal of most of the music here that carries the day.

Miklós Perényi, cello
Dénes Várjon, piano (Tracks 1 – 8 , 12–28)
Lúcia Megyesi Schwartz, mezzo-soprano (Tracks 17 – 28)
Kristóf Baráti, violin (Tracks 17 – 28)
Lajos Rozmán, clarinet (Tracks 17 – 28)

Select a Format:

Catalogue No: TOCC0345
EAN/UPC: 5060113443458
Release Date: 01.10.2016
Composer: Ferenc Farkas
Artists: Dénes Várjon, Kristóf Baráti, Lajos Rozmán, Lúcia Megyesi Schwartz, Miklós Perényi

Listen To This Recording:

  1. Alla danza ungherese No. 2 (1934)*
  2. All’antica (1962)*

  3. I Pastorale
  4. II Aria con variazioni
  5. III Giga
  6. Ballade (1963)
  7. Folksong Sonatina (1955)*

  8. I Allegro moderato
  9. II Andante espressivo
  10. III Allegro
  11. Sonata for violoncello solo (1932)*

  12. I Allegro
  13. II Andante
  14. III Allegro molto
  15. Arioso (1926)
  16. Quattro pezzi (1965)*

  17. I Intrada
  18. I Scherzo
  19. I Petit poème
  20. I Rondo
  21. Gyümölcskosár (‘Fruit Basket’; 1946)**
    Song-cycle for soprano, violin, clarinet, cello and piano baased on poems by Sándor Weöres

  22. I Gáspár (‘Caspar’)
  23. II Ládika (‘The Magic Box’)
  24. III Marasztalás (‘Sunbeams’)
  25. IV Falusi reggel (‘Morning in the Village’)
  26. V Mondóka (‘Violets’)
  27. VI A köbéka (‘The Stone Frog’)
  28. VII Altatódal (‘Lullaby’)
  29. VIII Száncsengő (‘Sleigh Bells‘)
  30. IX Békakirály (‘Frog King’)
  31. X A tündér (‘The Little Elf’)
  32. XI Paprika Jancsi szerenádja (‘Harlequin Serenade‘)
  33. XII Déli felhők (‘Midday Cloud’)

*First Recordings


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Ferenc Farkas: Complete Chamber Music for Cello, Volume One”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *