Heino Eller: Complete Piano Music, Volume One

Catalogue No: TOCC0119
EAN/UPC: 5060113441195
Release Date: 03.10.2011
Composer: Heino Eller
Artists: Sten Lassmann

The Estonian Heino Eller (1887-1970) is probably best known as the teacher of Arvo Pärt — but he was a prolific and original composer in his own right. His substantial output for piano — this series will contain seven CDs — was written over a period of six decades and thus reflects a range of styles. Taking the lyricism of Chopin and Grieg as its starting point, it combines the influence of Estonian folksong, Scriabin's troubled harmonies, the epic northern colouring of Sibelius and, at times, Prokofiev's motoric energy into an attractively individual manner.

Sten Lassmann, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Preludes, Book 1 (1914t17)

  1. No. 1, Moderato
  2. No. 2, Moderato assai
  3. No. 3, Molto adagio, con espressione
  4. No. 4, Andante sostenuto
  5. No. 5, Patetico
  6. No. 6, Sostenuto
  7. No. 7, Con fuoco
  8. Six Pieces (‘Estonian Suite’) (1946)

  9. No. 1, Dance of the Billy-Goat
  10. No. 2, Round Dance
  11. No. 3, Folk-Tune
  12. No. 4, Horn-Tune
  13. No. 5, In the Folk Tone
  14. No. 6, Dancing Tune
  15. Toccata in B minor (1921)
  16. Dance in B minor (1930s)
  17. In the Character of a Dance (1941)
  18. Dance-Caprice (1933)
  19. The Bells (1929)
  20. Piano Sonata No. 2 (1939t40)

  21. I. Allegro
  22. II. Andante pensieroso
  23. III. Presto


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Heino Eller: Complete Piano Music, Volume One”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *