Douglas Munn: Piano Music

Catalogue No: TOCC0559
EAN/UPC: 5060113445599
Release Date: 2021-04-02
Composer: Douglas Munn
Artists: Arta Arnicane

The man who as W. D. Munn published papers on that branch of mathematics known as semigroup theory had another side to his personality: Douglas Munn (1929–2008), professor of mathematics at the University of Stirling, was also a fine pianist and a gifted composer. His piano music has its origins in Chopin, Brahms and Bartók but is clearly also inflected by Scottish folksong – much of it has a sense of the hills and the open spaces – and is written by someone with an intimate knowledge of the instrument. The Latvian pianist Arta Arnicane knew Douglas Munn and this album is the fulfilment of an unspoken promise to record his piano music.

Arta Arnicane, piano

Listen To This Recording:

  1. Minuet and Trio in G minor (1947, rev. 2004)
  2. Mazurka in D minor (1947, rev. 2006)
  3. Scherzo in F sharp minor (1948, rev. 1989)
  4. Sonatina in F minor (1950, rev. 1985/2001)

  5. I Lento – Allegro
  6. II Andante
  7. III Allegro giocoso
  8. Nocturne in D flat major (1944)
  9. Nocturne in A major (1943)
  10. Nocturne in B minor (1945, rev. 1988/2003)
  11. Nocturne in E flat major (1943)
  12. Nocturne in E flat minor (1946, rev. 1991/2004)
  13. Intermezzo in A minor (1947, rev. 2005)
  14. Prelude No. 1 in E minor (1944, rev. 2003)
  15. Prelude No. 2 in F sharp major (1946)
  16. Prelude No. 3 in D major (1947)


1 review for Douglas Munn: Piano Music

  1. :

    ‘s for sound quality, the studio of Riga Radio, Latvia provides a sympathetic venue and acoustic to showcases these captivating scores to good effect. Arnicane must be lauded for her championing of Munn’s music in these first recordings. ‘

    —Stephen Greenbank, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *