Derek B. Scott: Six Song-Cycles for Baritone and Chamber Ensemble

Catalogue No: TOCC0619
EAN/UPC: 5060113446190
Release Date: 2021-12-03
Composer: Derek B. Scott
Artists: James Atkinson, Lynn Arnold, Tippett Quartet

Derek Scott, born in Birmingham in 1950, has an international reputation as a leading historian of the British music hall and other forms of light entertainment. But he is an outstanding composer in his own right, his music treading a fine line between a very English whimsy and a profoundly felt and natural response to his subject matter. These six song-cycles – with influences ranging from Vaughan Williams to The Beatles – reveal a master craftsman and natural tunesmith, who manages to unite good humour, unerring technique and deep feeling in music of immediate appeal, setting texts by poets who include Burns, Hardy, Shakespeare, Swift, Wordsworth, Yeats and the composer himself.

James Atkinson, baritone
Lynn Arnold, piano (Tracks 1-8, 14-26)
Tippett Quartet
John Mills and Jeremy Isaac, violins
Lydia Lowndes-Northcott, viola
Božidar Vukotić, cello

Listen To This Recording:

    Former Beauties, Op. 0 (1972)

  1. I She Dwelt among the Untrodden Ways
  2. II A Satirical Elegy on the Death of a Late Famous General
  3. III Highland Mary
  4. IV The Album
  5. V Former Beauties
  6. Three Shakespeare Sonnets, Op. 5 (1974)

  7. No. 1 Sonnet 27
  8. No. 2 Sonnet 49
  9. No. 3 Sonnet 113
  10. Five Songs from The Rose, Op. 14 (1982)

  11. No. 1 The Lake Isle of Innisfree
  12. No. 2 The Sorrow of Love
  13. No. 3 Who Goes with Fergus?
  14. No. 4 A Cradle Song
  15. No. 5 The Ballad of Father Gilligan
  16. Three Love Songs, Op. 19 (1986)

  17. No. 1 Your Many Gifts to Me
  18. No. 2 A Hidden Meaning
  19. No. 3 As I Wait for Friday
  20. Four Songs from The Wind among the Reeds, Op. 22 (1993)

  21. No. 1 The Song of Wandering Aengus
  22. No. 2 Aedh Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven
  23. No. 3 The Cap and Bells
  24. No. 4 The Fiddler of Dooney
  25. Past and Present, Op. 33 (2017)

  26. I To Lizbie Browne
  27. II The Darkling Thrush
  28. III The Tenant-for-Life
  29. IV The Levelled Churchyard
  30. V The Ruined Maid
  31. VI To Life



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Derek B. Scott: Six Song-Cycles for Baritone and Chamber Ensemble”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *