Derek B. Scott: Orchestral Music

Discovery Club Members Save 30%!
Login or Join Today

Catalogue No: TOCC0589
EAN/UPC: 5060113445896
Release Date: 2021-03-05
Composer: Derek B. Scott
Artists: John Key, Liepaja Symphony Orchestra, Paul Mann

Derek Scott, born 1950, Birmingham, has an international reputation as a leading historian of the British music hall and other forms of light entertainment but he is an outstanding composer in his own right, his music treading a fine line between a very English whimsy and a profoundly felt and natural response to his (often Celtic) subject matter. These works reveal a master, who finds deep feeling behind the levity

John Key, bagpipe
Liepāja Symphony Orchestra
Paul Mann, conductor

Listen To This Recording:

    Pagan Overture, Op. 2 (1973)

  1. Pagan Overture, Op. 2
  2. Airs and Dances: Concerto for Highland Bagpipe and Orchestra, Op. 28 (1998)

  3. Airs and Dances
  4. Brannigan’s Journey, Op. 30 (2003)

  5. Brannigan’s Journey, Op. 30
  6. Dafydd y Garreg Wen: Fantasia for Orchestra, Op. 25 (1996)

  7. Dafydd y Garreg Wen: Fantasia for Orchestra, Op. 25
  8. Suite Grotesque, Op. 32 (2006/2020)

  9. I March 
  10. II Ballad
  11. III Double Fugue 
  12. IV Variations
  13. V Scherzo
  14. Chacony, Op. 24 (1995, rev. 2019)

  15. Chacony, Op. 24
  16. Fugal Overture, Op. 6 (1975)

  17. Fugal Overture, Op. 6
  18. Kirkliston Waltz, Op. 31 (2003)

  19. Kirkliston Waltz, Op. 31
  20. Clear the Decks!: Boogie Woogie for Orchestra, Op. 21 (1995)

  21. Clear the Decks!: Boogie Woogie for Orchestra, Op. 21


1 review for Derek B. Scott: Orchestral Music

  1. :

    ‘Piper John Dew, young but experienced, is a composer himself and plays his concerto with imaginative flair. The Liepāja Symphony seem to be able to turn its hand to pretty much all aspects of the repertoire without sounding in any way non-committal or as if it’s sight-reading its way through. Much of the credit for that goes to Paul Mann who is a Toccata regular by now.

    None of the works in this disc is on the large-scale side but everything is sharply, warmly, wittily and communicatively generous in its impact.’

    —Jonathan Woolf, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *