William Humphreys DAYAS: Complete Organ Music

Catalogue No: TOCC0285
EAN/UPC: 5060113442857
Release Date: 01.03.2016
Composer: William Humphreys Dayas
Artists: Jan Lehtola

The American William Humphreys Dayas (1864–1903) studied with Liszt, was friends with Busoni and became a major piano teacher, spreading the message of Liszt’s music to his students in Helsinki, Wiesbaden, Cologne and Manchester, where his short life came to an end. Dayas left only a handful of compositions, but they include two major organ sonatas – passionate, Lisztian works that have remained completely unknown until now. Dayas also arranged for organ the Thème varié for piano four hands by another forgotten American composer, Arthur H. Bird (1856–1923), a further important addition to the late-Romantic organ repertoire.

Jan Lehtola, Walcker Organ of St. John's Church, Helsinki

Listen To This Recording:

    Organ Sonata No. 1 in F major, Op. 5

  1. I Präludium —
  2. II Andante —
  3. III Introduzione (quasi Fantasie): Poco piu Andante —
  4. IV Fuge (Allegro moderato)
  5. Arthur H. Bird arr Dayas: Thème varié, Op. 27

  6. Thema Andante ma non troppo
  7. Var. 1 Poco allegro
  8. Var. 2 Poco più allegro
  9. Var. 3 Allegro
  10. Var. 4 Più moderato
  11. Var. 5 Allegro moderato
  12. Var. 6 Andante ma non troppo
  13. Var. 7 Moderato maestoso
  14. Fuge: Moderato
  15. Organ Sonata No. 2 in C minor, Op. 7

  16. I. Maestoso—Allegro —
  17. II. Adagio—Allegretto—Adagio —
  18. III. Maestoso—Allegro energico —
  19. IV. Fuge (Moderato)—Piu allegro—Allegro—Molto allegro


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “William Humphreys DAYAS: Complete Organ Music”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *