Arnold Griller: Orchestral Music, Volume Two

Catalogue No: TOCC0460
EAN/UPC: 5060113444608
Release Date: 2018-10-01
Composer: Arnold Griller
Artists: Alexander Walker, Emin Martirosian, Musica Viva Chamber Orchestra

The composer Arnold Griller (b. 1937), son of the violinist Sidney Griller, grew up in London, surrounded by some of the world’s best-known musicians. In spite of this propitious beginning to his career, his considerable output remains largely unknown. This second volume of orchestral pieces presents four major works, not least Griller’s only symphony. His music is highly individual: it absorbs a number of disparate influences, not least Milhaud (his main teacher) and late Stravinsky, shows an occasional touch of the surreal and the bizarre, and infuses the result with radiant lyricism, edgy humour and restless energy..

Emin Martirosian, piano
Musica Viva Symphony Orchestra
Alexander Walker, director

1 review for Arnold Griller: Orchestral Music, Volume Two

  1. :

    ‘The performances bear all the marks of superlative skills and elite sensitivity.’

    —Rob Barnett, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *