Wilhelm GOLDNER: Suites Modernes, Volume One


Catalogue No: TOCC0527
EAN/UPC: 5060113445278
Release Date: 07.02.2020
Composer: Wilhelm Goldner
Artists: Bradley Beckman, Carolyn True

Wilhelm Goldner (1839–1907) was one of the many composer-pianists who populated European musical life in the nineteenth century. Born in Hamburg, six years after Brahms, he trained in Leipzig and made his name and his living in Paris, where his attractive and easy-going music became a favourite of the salons. His first Suite moderne for piano duet, written in 1875, proved so popular that his publisher asked for more, and over the next twelve years Goldner composed five further Suites modernes. Although all six were reprinted in 1904 (by Universal in Vienna, no less), they have long since slipped from sight, and these first recordings restore their charms to modern audiences.

Brad Beckmann and Carolyn True, piano duet


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.