Charles-Valentin Alkan: Complete Piano Duos and Duets

(1 customer review)

Catalogue No: TOCC0070
EAN/UPC: 5060113440709
Release Date: 17.01.2011
Composer: Charles-Valentin Alkan
Artists: Anthony Goldstone, Caroline Clemmow

The piano works of Charles-Valentin Alkan (1813-88) are among the most demanding ever written — but they can also gleam with a fierce joy and twinkle with mischievous humour, so it's hardly surprising to find his works for piano duet bubbling with freewheeling energy. The two works for pedal piano — transcribed here for two pianos by Roger Smalley — show a more solemn side to this devoutly religious composer, though they, too, have their own charge of excitement and Alkan's trademark eccentric originality.

Anthony Goldstone and Caroline Clemmow, piano duo, piano duet

Listen To This Recording:

  1. Benedictus, Op. 54
  2. Impromptu sur le Choral de Luther ‘Un fort rempart est Notre Dieu’, Op. 69

  3. minim = 63
  4. L’istesso tempo (minim = 63)
  5. L’istesso tempo (minim = 63)
  6. L’istesso tempo (minim = 63)
  7. Saltarelle, Op. 47 for piano duet
  8. Fantaisie à quatre mains sur Don Juan, Op. 26

  9. Introduzione
  10. Tema (‘Venite pur avanti’)
  11. Variation 1
  12. Variation 2
  13. Variation 3
  14. Variation 4
  15. Variation 5
  16. Finale (‘Finch’ han dal vino’)
  17. Trois Marches, Op. 40

  18. No. 1 in A flat major (Allegro)
  19. No. 2 in C minor/E flat major (Allegro moderato)
  20. No. 3 in B flat major (ModÈrÈment)
  21. Bombardo-Carillon, for piano duet
  22. Finale, Op. 17, for piano duet

1 review for Charles-Valentin Alkan: Complete Piano Duos and Duets

  1. :

    “Superbly performed and recorded,this disc contains a couple of first recordings and demonstrates wonderfully what admirers of the composers find so appealing about his oeuvre – that amazing inventiveness and quirkiness of character is evident in abundance here.” —Amazon

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.