William Beaton Moonie: Chamber and Instrumental Music, Vol. One: Music for Solo Piano


Catalogue No: TOCC0602
EAN/UPC: 5060113446022
Release Date: 05.11.2021
Composer: William Beaton Moonie
Artists: Christopher Guild

The music of the Edinburgh composer William Beaton Moonie (1883–1961) is as good as unknown. This first-ever album devoted to his piano music reveals a figure downstream from Schumann, Brahms and Grieg, writing in a conservative Romantic idiom coloured by echoes of the folk-music of his native Scotland. Many of these pieces, indeed, are concerned to evoke images of the Scottish countryside or suggest aspects of Scottish history.

Christopher Guild, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Perthshire Echoes (publ. 1924)*

  1. I Hunting Tower
  2. II Aberfeldy
  3. III Balquidder
  4. IV The Lass o’ Gowrie
  5. V House o’ Gask
  6. VI Blair Athol
  7. A Scottish Chap-book, Book 1 (undated)

  8. I In a Quiet Strath
  9. II The ‘Kind’ Gallows of Crieff
  10. III Rowing Song
  11. IV The Goblin Ha’
  12. V Gaberlunzie
  13. VI The Country of the Caber Feidh
  14. Five Pieces for Piano (undated)

  15. No. 2: Pensée Fugitive
  16. No. 4 L’Epinette
  17. No. 3 Elegy
  18. No. 5 Ariette
  19. Arabesque (publ. 1923)

  20. Arabesque
  21. Five Romantic Pieces (1955)

  22. No. 1 The Linn
  23. No. 2 Idyll
  24. No. 3 Gaberlunzie
  25. No. 4 Autumn
  26. No. 5 Rondino in G
  27. Reverie (publ. 1922)

  28. Reverie



There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.