Vasily Kalafati: Piano Music

The name of Vasily Pavlovich Kalafati (1869–1942), born to Greek parents in the Crimea, has a toe-hold in the history books as one of Stravinsky’s teachers, but he was an accomplished composer in his own right. The early piano works recorded here show the influence of Rimsky Korsakov (his teacher and friend) and other Russian-nationalist composers, but they also owe something to the examples of Chopin and Brahms, not least in their blend of passion and textural clarity. The vigour of these pieces stands in stark contrast to the ultimate fate of their composer: he starved to death during the Siege of Leningrad.

Jeremy Thompson, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Nocturne, La Nuit à Goursouf, Op. 5 (1900)

  1. Nocturne, La Nuit à Goursouf, Op. 5
  2. 5 Preludes, Op. 7 (1901)

  3. No. 1 Allegro; C major
  4. No. 2 Andante; F minor
  5. No. 3 Andantino; D flat major
  6. No. 4 Allegretto; A major
  7. No. 5 Lento; B flat minor
  8. Deux Nouvellettes, Op. 6 (1901)

  9. No. 1 Allegro moderato
  10. Piano Sonata No. 1 in D major, Op. 4, No. 1 (c. 1895)

  11. I Allegro moderato
  12. II Adagio – Allegretto
  13. III Finale. Allegro con brio
  14. 3 Bagatelles, Op. 9 (1905–6)

  15. No. 1 Scherzino
  16. No. 2 Valse-Impromptu
  17. No. 3 L’Enterrement d’un Oiseau
  18. Piano Sonata No. 2 in D minor, Op. 4, No. 2 (c. 1895)

  19. I Allegro con brio
  20. II Andante
  21. III Scherzo. Allegro
  22. IV Finale. Andante – Presto



Catalogue No: TOCC0093
EAN/UPC: 5060113440938
Release Date: 05.03.2021
Composer: Vasily Kalafti
Artists: Jeremy Thompson


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.