Rudolf Tobias: Complete Organ Works

Catalogue No: TOCC0288
EAN/UPC: 5060113442888
Release Date: 2015-04-06
Composer: Rudolf Tobias
Artists: Arete Teemets, Ines Maidre

Rudolf Tobias (1873-1918) founded the classical-music tradition in Estonia almost single-handledly, writing the first Estonian orchestral piece, the first Estonian string quartet, first Estonian piano concerto and the first Estonian oratorio, the monumental Des Jona Sendung, from which Ines Maidre has now transcribed for organ the blazingly powerful Sanctus. Although Tobias was himself an outstanding organist, he wrote little music for his own instrument and most of it is modest in scale, but its quirky craftsmanship reveals the hand of a master.

Ines Maidre, organ; Arete Teemets, soprano;

Listen To This Recording:

  1. Largo (Pfingstgesang): Wisset ihr nicht
  2. Kleine Choralvorspiele: No. 1 Vom Himmel hoch (Pastorale)
  3. Kleine Choralvorspiele: No. 2 Schmucke dich, o liebe Seele (mit Choral)
  4. Kleine Choralvorspiele: No. 3 Loberpriester der du Dich
  5. Kleine Choralvorspiele: No. 4 Ach, bleib mit deiner Gnade (mit Choral)
  6. Kleine Choralvorspiele: No. 5 Wie schön leuchtet der Morgenstern
  7. Chaconne: Macht’ hoch die Tur
  8. Prelude and Fughetta in C minor: Prelude
  9. Prelude and Fughetta in C minor: Fughetta
  10. Prelude: Lobt Gott ihr Christen allzugleich
  11. Agnus Dei
  12. Des Jona Sendung: Chorus Mysticus and Sanctus
  13. Zwolf Choralvorspiele: No. 1 Ach, was soll ich Sunder machen
  14. Zwolf Choralvorspiele: No. 2 O, du Liebe, meiner Liebe
  15. Zwolf Choralvorspiele: No. 3 Es ist gewisslich an der Zeit
  16. Zwolf Choralvorspiele: No. 4 Sollt’ ich meinem Gott nicht singen I
  17. Zwolf Choralvorspiele: No. 5 Mit Fried und Freud’ fuhr’ ich dahin
  18. Zwolf Choralvorspiele: No. 6 Wer nur den lieben Gott lasst walten
  19. Zwolf Choralvorspiele: No. 7 Jesu, meines Lebens Leben
  20. Zwolf Choralvorspiele: No. 8 Sollt’ ich meinem Gott nicht singen II
  21. Zwolf Choralvorspiele: No. 9 Werde munter mein Gemuthe
  22. Zwolf Choralvorspiele: No. 10 Nun ruhen alle Walder (Nachtstuck)
  23. Zwolf Choralvorspiele: No. 11 Frohlich soll mein Herze springen
  24. Zwolf Choralvorspiele: No. 12 Komm heil’ger Geist, o Herre
  25. Prelude in D major
  26. Fugue in D minor

1 review for Rudolf Tobias: Complete Organ Works

  1. :

    The Largo, “Wisset ihr nicht” is based on Paul’s First Letter to the Corinthians: “Know ye not that ye are the temple of God.” It is heard here in an arrangement for solo organ by August Topman (1882–1968). This is one of Tobias’s most famous compositions, apparently dating from 1900. Earlier still is the group of five Kleine Choralvorspiele (1892). Two of them feature the Estonian soprano Arete Teemets, who has a pure, strong voice that delivers the chorales in the second and fourth with much beauty. She shines, too, in the Agnus Dei (actually for mezzo), a piece which weaves the chorale O Lamm Gottes in with the solo line. … More advanced harmonically is the Ciacona, Macht’ hoch die Tür (heard in the Advent 1914 version, one of two versions). It is fascinatingly wrought, its harmonies seemingly ever searching yet providing glimpses along the way of light. The Prelude and Fughetta in C Minor (1914) is expertly written, with pungent harmonies meeting supremely wrought counterpoint. … This is a fine set of Chorale Preludes; perhaps finest amongst them is the Nachtstück, “Nun ruhen alle Wälder” (No. 10), a thing of beauty. The advanced final prelude, “Komm heil’ger Geist, o Herre,” is a remarkable piece, well worth hearing for its adventurous spirit as well as the sheer compositional expertise. It seems the perfect way to end this significant set, and one hopes that of all the works on this disc, it is these 1914 Chorale Preludes that make it into the repertory.
    The Fugue in D Minor that closes the recital is active, lively, and makes for a successful finale to this significant disc. … Recommended.

    —Colin Clarke, Fanfare Magazine, September 2015

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *