Giuseppe Tartini: 30 Sonate piccole, Volume Four – Sonatas Nos. 19-24

Catalogue No: TOCC0363
EAN/UPC: 5060113443632
Release Date: 2017-09-01
Composer: Giuseppe Tartini
Artists: Peter Sheppard Skærved

In the last years of his life, the great composer, violinist and swordsman Giuseppe Tartini (1692–1770) laboured at a cycle of sonatas for solo violin. The resulting manuscript offers the most important composition for solo violin after Bach and, at six hours in duration, the largest integrated work for the instrument. This first complete recording is based on a fresh study of the source and includes a number of works deciphered from Tartini’s shorthand and overlooked in earlier editions.

Peter Sheppard Skærved

Listen To This Recording:

    Sonata No. 19 in E minor

  1. I Andante cantabile
  2. II Allegro
  3. III Allegro assai
  4. IV Menuet
  5. V Allegro assai
  6. Sonata No. 20 in F Major

  7. I Grave
  8. II Allegro non presto
  9. III Allegro
  10. IV Presto
  11. Sonata No. 21 in A minor

  12. I Andante
  13. II ‘Tra l’orror dell tempesta’: Allegro
  14. III Presto
  15. IV Allegro assai
  16. Sonata No. 22 in E major

  17. I Andante cantabile
  18. II Presto
  19. III Aria
  20. IV Menuet
  21. V Grave
  22. VI Giga
  23. Cantabile in A major
  24. Sonata No. 23 in D major

  25. I Andante cantabile
  26. II Allegro assai
  27. III Aria cantabile
  28. IV [Furlana]
  29. V ‘Amico il fato mi guida’
  30. Sonata No. 24 in D minor

  31. I Andante cantabile
  32. II Allegro
  33. III Allegro assai

First Complete Recording

1 review for Giuseppe Tartini: 30 Sonate piccole, Volume Four – Sonatas Nos. 19-24

  1. :

    ‘There’s a sense of real through-flow to these performances, single arches of intellectual and musical cogency. […]

    On we go with performances of personality and profound identification.’

    —Jonathan Woolf, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *