Leone Sinigaglia: Chamber Music

Catalogue No: TOCC0025
EAN/UPC: 5060113440259
Release Date: 2011-03-21
Composer: Leone Sinigaglia
Artists: Noreen Silver, Phillip Silver, Solomia Soroka

Leone Sinigaglia, born in Turin in 1868, was a friend of Brahms in Vienna and a student of Dvořák in Prague, applying their classical techniques to the inspiration he found in Italian folksong: his music is marked by strong melodies and a sophisticated use of harmony. Championed by musicians of the standing of Barbirolli, Furtwängler, Kreisler, Stokowski and Toscanini, he was also a famous mountaineer, with two first climbs in the Dolomites to his credit. Sinigaglia, who was Jewish, died in Turin in 1944 as he was being arrested, at the age of 75, by the occupying Nazi forces. His tuneful chamber music bears witness to the happy life that preceded that tragic end.

Solomia Soroka, violin
Noreen Silver, cello
Phillip Silver, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Violin Sonata in G major, Op. 44 (1936)

  1. I. Allegro moderato
  2. II. Adagio
  3. III. Allegro con spirito
  4. Romanze in D major for cello and piano, Op. 16 No. 1 (1898)
  5. Cavatina in G major for violin and piano, Op. 13, No. 1 (1902)
  6. Cello Sonata in C major, Op. 41 (1923)

  7. I. Allegro
  8. II. Intermezzo: Allegro animato
  9. III. Adagio
  10. IV. Allegro con spirito

1 review for Leone Sinigaglia: Chamber Music

  1. :

    ‘…[Violin Sonata:] The uplifting finale, albeit with a contrapuntal element – canonic imitation too – leads on to some strenuous passages amidst the elegant fluidity of the writing. …[Cello Sonata:] The Intermezzo is delightfully capricious, full of wit, whilst rich warmth suffuses the Adagio, a kind of barcarolle, and again rather wistful. This is a quality Sinigaglia often displays, and it is a singular one. …these elegant readings set a standard for future Sinigaglia performances, and I truly hope that more will follow the lead of the intrepid Solomia Soroka and Noreen and Philip Silver.’

    —Jonathan Woolf, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *