Ronald Stevenson: Piano Music, Volume Four

Discovery Club Members Save 30%!
Login or Join Today

Catalogue No: TOCC0555
EAN/UPC: 5060113445551
Release Date: 2020-02-07
Composer: Ronald Stevenson
Artists: Christopher Guild

This fourth volume in Christopher Guild’s ongoing survey of the piano music of the pianist-composer Ronald Stevenson (1928–2015) – a major figure in the cultural life of twentieth- century Scotland – presents works inspired by the human voice, where Stevenson was concerned above all to make the piano sing, to allow it to express human feeling as naturally as possible. That concern can be heard both in his own pieces and his many transcriptions of music by other composers, which balance sophisticated craftsmanship and a refreshing emotional directness.

Christopher Guild, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Suite from Paderewski’s ‘Manru’ (1961)*

  1. I Introduction and Gipsy March
  2. II Gipsy Song
  3. III Lullaby
  4. IV Cracovienne
  5. Song without Words (1988)*

  6. Song without words
  7. Nine Haiku (1971, arr. 2006)*

  8. No. 1 Dedication
  9. No. 2 The Fly
  10. No. 3 Gone Away
  11. No. 4 Nocturne
  12. No. 5 Master and Pupil
  13. No. 6 Spring
  14. Interlude: The Blossoming Cherry (Aubade)
  15. No. 7 Curfew
  16. No. 8 Hiroshima
  17. No. 9 Epilogue
  18. Charpentier: Louise – Romance (c. 1970)*

  19. Louise – Romance
  20. L’Art Nouveau du chant appliqué au piano (1980–88)
    Volume One

  21. No. 1 Elëanore
  22. No. 2 So we’ll go no more a-roving
  23. No. 3 Les Huguenots: Romance: Plus blanche que la plus blanche hermine
  24. No. 4 In the Silent Night
  25. No. 5 Go not, happy day!
  26. Volume Two

  27. No. 1 Fly Home, Little Heart
  28. No. 2 We’ll Gather Lilacs
  29. No. 3 Hiawatha: Demande et Réponse
  30. No. 4 Maytime: Will you remember? (Sweethearts)
  31. Volume Three*

  32. No. 1 Jeannie with the light brown hair
  33. No. 2 Come where my love lies dreaming
  34. No. 3 Beautiful Dreamer

*First Recordings

3 reviews for Ronald Stevenson: Piano Music, Volume Four

  1. :

    ‘Christopher Guild has taken all these pieces to his heart. […] he has a clear understanding of, and sympathy with, Ronald Stevenson’s eclectic musical style.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this latest volume in Christopher Guild’s survey of Ronald Stevenson’s piano music.’

    —John France. MusicWeb International

  2. :

    ‘As with the other volumes in this series, Christopher Guild proves an ideal interpreter of Stevenson’s music. His strongly committed playing and copious and informative booklet essays are the main selling points of this series. The recorded sound, as with all Toccata releases, is excellent. This is a worthy addition to the growing catalogue of Ronald Stevenson’s music on disc, especially as many of these pieces are here receiving their première recordings.’

    —Stuart Sillitoe, MusicWeb International

  3. :

    ‘I can only echo what other reviewers have said; first rate, brilliant and sympathetic pianism in an album that has huge variety and range.

    A fascinating glimpse into Stevenson as transcriber.’

    —Rob Challinor, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *