Richard Flury: A Florentine Tragedy: Opera in One Act

Catalogue No: TOCC0427
EAN/UPC: 5060113444271
Release Date: 2019-06-01
Composer: Richard Flury
Artists: Daniel Ochoa, Julia Sophie Wagner, Long Long, Nuremberg Symphony Orchestra, Paul Mann

The Swiss composer Richard Flury (1896–1967) felt the fascination for A Florentine Tragedy, Oscar Wilde’s drama of love and violence in Renaissance Italy, that also attracted his near-contemporary Alexander Zemlinsky: they set the same libretto. Flury responded to the text with this dark and swirling one-act verismo opera, sizzling with sexual tension, the vocal lines of the three characters unfolding over an orchestral texture remarkable for its plasticity and kaleidoscopic colour. It is preceded here by a dignified but impassioned operatic scena setting Grillparzer’s dramatic treatment of the suicide of the Greek poetess Sappho.

Julia Sophie Wagner (soprano), Tracks 1-3, 5-11
Long Long (tenor), Tracks 2-11
Daniel Ochoa (baritone), Tracks 2-11
Nuremberg Symphony Orchestra
Paul Mann (conductor)

Listen To This Recording:

    Sapphos Tod (1928)

  1. The Death of Sappho
  2. Eine florentinische Tragödie (‘A florentine Tragedy’): Oper in einem Aufzug (1926-28)

  3. So langsam, Weib?
  4. Und doch, mein Fürst
  5. Prinz, man sagt
  6. Wie, wenn ich die weisse Bianca forderte?
  7. Was gibt es Neues, mein Prinz?
  8. Wie er gleich einem schalen Krämer spricht!
  9. Nicht doch, mein Prinz
  10. Was meint der Fleck hier auf dem Tuch?
  11. Hol eine Fackel, Frau!
  12. Nimm, Heiland, meinen armen Geist zu dir!



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Richard Flury: A Florentine Tragedy: Opera in One Act”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *