Igor Raykhelson: Viola Concerto; Violin Concerto

(4 customer reviews)

Catalogue No: TOCC0130
EAN/UPC: 5060113441300
Release Date: 2012-02-13
Composer: Igor Raykhelson
Artists: Alexander Sladkovsky, Claudio Vandelli, Nikolay Sachenko, Novaya Rossiya Orchestra, Yuri Bashmet

In the words of his friend the violist and conductor Yuri Bashmet, the composer-pianist Igor Raykhelson — born in Leningrad in 1961 and now resident in New York — 'possesses a superb mastery of both classical and jazz idioms'. The unashamed Romanticism of Raykhelson's Violin Concerto (2007) and its emphasis on melody place it downstream from Korngold, and though the Viola Concerto (2005) has its darker moments, its vigorous, jazz-tinged finale has the knock-about good humour of Rodion Shchedrin.

Yuri Bashmet, viola
Nikolay Sachenko, violin
Novaya Rossiya Orchestra, orchestra
Claudio Vandelli, conductor
Alexander Sladkovsky, conductor

4 reviews for Igor Raykhelson: Viola Concerto; Violin Concerto

  1. :

    ‘… This disc should provide an excellent introduction for anybody seeking to explore the sound world of Igor Raykhelson. It’s a world of unreconstructed and unapologetic Romanticism. Adorno would turn in his grave at the thought of it, but those with a taste for expressive melodic writing may be more sympathetic. And if you’re curious about what violin and viola concertos by Rachmaninoff might have sounded like, they would probably have sounded something like this.’

    —Gavin Dixon, Fanfare Magazine November/December 2012

  2. :

    ‘Lush, neo-romantic string concertos’

    —Amazon Review

  3. :

    ‘Great appreciation of the composer’s style’

    —Amazon Review

  4. :

    ‘The soundstage is large and in a reverberant acoustic with Bashmet adequately highlighted … the overall viola tone and instrumental timbre are quite natural, assuring a generally pleasing listening experience.’

    —Bob McQuiston, CLOFO

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *