Nikolay Myaskovsky: Vocal Works, Volume Two: Complete Songs for Baritone and Piano

Catalogue No: TOCC0667
EAN/UPC: 5060113446671
Release Date: 2023-07-07
Composer: Nikolai Myaskovsky
Artists: Dzambolat Dulaev, Ilya Kuzmin, Olga Solovieva

Nikolay Myaskovsky (1881–1950) was given the sobriquet of ‘the conscience of Russian music’ thanks to his dignified bearing and quiet wisdom – qualities reflected in the unemphatic strength of his music. His orchestral, chamber and instrumental works are regaining the currency they once enjoyed, but his large corpus of songs, many of them understated masterpieces, has yet to attract systematic attention – a situation this series hopes to remedy. This second album presents his entire output of songs for baritone and piano, most of them early works responding to Russian lyric poetry with the calm dignity typical of his compositions – though there is the occasional flash of passion.

Ilya Kuzmin, baritone
Dzambolat Dulaev, baritone
Olga Solovieva, piano

Listen To This Recording:

Six Poems of Alexander Blok, Op. 20 (1920) (18:00)

  1. No. 1 A full moon has risen over the meadow (3:53)
  2. No. 2 The evenings’ chill is dreadful (2:45)
  3. No. 3 Dear friend! (2:02)
  4. No. 4 The autumn day declines on its slow course (3:12)
  5. No. 5 I will arise in the foggy morning (1:39)
  6. No. 6 In the silent night (4:29)

At the Decline of the Day: Three Sketches to the Words by Fyodor Tyutchev, Op. 21 (1922) (3:59)

  1. No. 1 It is not given us to tell (0:57)
  2. No. 2 Your friendly voice prompts no living spark (1:43)
  3. No. 3 However distressing the final hour… (1:19)

Three Sketches, Op. 45 (1938) (7:08)

  1. No. 1 The Flower (1:46)
  2. No. 2 The Little Birch Tree (2:39)
  3. No. 3 A Conversation (2:43)

From the Lyric Poetry of Stepan Shchipachyov, Op. 52 (1940) (18:06)

  1. I. Fair-haired Wind (1:29)
  2. II. At the Spring (1:39)
  3. III. It sometimes seems to me… (1:41)
  4. IV. The Sunflower (1:10)
  5. V. Superstitions (2:09)
  6. VI. To you (1:52)
  7. VII. It’s easy, my love, with you (1:04)
  8. VIII. Mount Elbrus and the Aeroplane (1:52)
  9. IX. After glancing at a card (2:31)
  10. X. By the Sea (2:39)

Songs of Many Years, Op. 87 (1901-36; rev. 1950) (7:33)

  1. No. 1 Thus yearns the soul (1:38)
  2. No. 6 Song of the Collectors (2:56)
  3. No. 7 In the struggle with a heavy fate (1:13)
  4. No. 10 Sonnet of Michelangelo (1:46)

Two Songs of Polar Explorers (1939) (7:52)

  1. No. 1 Song (4:57)
  2. No. 2 Song of the Polar Sailors (2:55)

First Recordings

1 review for Nikolay Myaskovsky: Vocal Works, Volume Two: Complete Songs for Baritone and Piano

  1. :

    ‘This is a very welcome release in Toccata’s second release of Myaskovsky’s vocal works. As with Volume 1, they are impeccably recorded and performed, especially by the pianist Olga Solovieva who has championed many unfamiliar composers in recent years. The two baritones who share these sets of songs were previously unknown to me, but they portray every aspect of the tragic poetry and graceful settings.’

    —Gregor Tassie, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *