Marc Blitzstein: Piano Music, 1918–63

The American composer Marc Blitzstein (1905–64) is best known for his left-leaning stage works; indeed, his pro-union musical The Cradle Will Rock achieved some notoriety in 1937 when the authorities shut it down. But Blitzstein was also a fine pianist and wrote for the instrument all through his career. This first album ever to be devoted entirely to his piano output offers a conspectus of 45 years of Blitzstein’s music, from lyrical juvenilia via spiky protest pieces and jazzy dance numbers to intimate ‘family’ pieces for close friends.

Leonard Lehrman, piano; speaker
Helene Williams, speaker


Catalogue No: TOCC0438
EAN/UPC: 5060113444387
Release Date: 01.02.2019
Composer: Marc Blitzstein
Artists: Helene Williams, Leonard Lehman

Listen To This Recording:

  1. Waterfall: Barcarolle, Op. 4, No. 1 (1918)*
  2. Prelude in C minor (1922)*
  3. Valse (1923)*
  4. Children’s Dances (1924)*

  5. Children’s Dances: No. 1 Pavane
  6. Children’s Dances: No. 2 Round
  7. Svarga: Suite (1924–25)*

  8. No. 4. Belly-Ache (A Blues)
  9. Percussion Music for the Piano (1928–29)

  10. I Toccata
  11. II Air
  12. III Rondino
  13. Scherzo: Bourgeois at Play (1930)*
  14. Cain: Ballet (1930)*

  15. No. 1 The Young Son; Abel offers the lamb
  16. No. 3 Cain and his wife; Cain’s offering; The response
  17. No. 10 Dance of Noema
  18. Piano Solo (1933)*

  19. II Cantabile
  20. Le Monde Libre: March on a French Resistance Tune (1944)*
  21. Show (The Guests): Ballet (1946–49)

  22. Ballet: No. 1 Prelude and Welcome
  23. Ballet: No. 2 Three-Four Dance (ed. Bennett Lerner)
  24. Ballet: No. 3 Parade (ed. Leonard Lehrman)
  25. Ballet: No. 4 Variation II
  26. Ballet: No. 5 Variation I
  27. Ballet: No. 6 Hollywood & Vine
  28. Ballet: No. 7 Pas de deux (ed. Bennett Lerner)
  29. Innocent Psalm – for the Bernstein baby (1952)*
  30. Slow March – for Kit’s Wedding (1953)*
  31. Wedding Piece for Stephen & Joyce (1955)*
  32. Lied – for Ben Cooper, and his women (1963)*
  33. Sonata for Piano (1927)**



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Marc Blitzstein: Piano Music, 1918–63”

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.