Malcolm Dedman: Piano Music, Volume One

Catalogue No: TOCC0649
EAN/UPC: 5060113446497
Release Date: 2022-07-01
Composer: Malcolm Dedman
Artists: Nancy Lee Harper

A number of diverse influences have helped shape the musical language of Malcolm Dedman (born in London in 1948 but resident in provincial South Africa since 2007), among them Bartók and Messiaen, his Bahá’í Faith and, more recently, his new South African homeland. Points of contact with other composers can be heard, too, not least Debussy, Ravel, Barber and Ginastera. These piano works embody a wide range of moods, from gentle introspection to energetic, dissonant vigour.

Nancy Lee Harper, piano

Listen To This Recording:

  1. Reformation (2009)
  2. Piano Sonata No. 2, ‘In Search’ (1984)

  3. I Vigoroso
  4. II Lamentoso
  5. III Spiritoso
  6. Four Kinds of Love (2008)

  7. I Love of Man for Man – Unity of Spirits
  8. II Love of Man for God – Divine Spirit
  9. III Love of God for Man – Inexhaustible Graces
  10. IV Love of God towards the Self – God is Love
  11. Piano Sonata No. 3, ‘To the Memory of an Angel’ (2021)

  12. I Struggle: Andante
  13. II Overcoming Difficulties: Andantino, alla Scherzando
  14. III Spiritual Guidance: Lento e Passionato
  15. IV Fulfilment – Into the Light: Allegro – Lento



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Malcolm Dedman: Piano Music, Volume One”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *