Leonid Sabaneyev: Piano Music


Catalogue No: TOCC0308
EAN/UPC: 5060113443083
Release Date: 04.12.2015
Composer: Leonid Sabaneyev
Artists: Jonathan Powell

For most of the past century the Russian composer Leonid Sabaneyev (1881–1968) was known principally as a writer, not least for his publications on his close friend Alexander Skryabin (he was also a scientist and mathematician). It is only now that his own music is being rediscovered. This first recording of his monumental Piano Sonata, ‘In Memory of Skryabin’, cast in a single movement half an hour in length, is prefaced by a number of characteristic miniatures.

Jonathan Powell, piano
First recordings

Listen To This Recording:

  1. Quatre preludes, Op. 1: No. 1 in E minor
  2. Quatre preludes, Op. 2: No. 1 in A minor
  3. Quatre preludes, Op. 2: No. 4 in C major
  4. Deux preludes, Op. 3: No. 2 in C sharp minor
  5. Deux morceaux, Op. 5: No. 2 Prelude in G minor
  6. Two Compositions, Op. 6: No. 1 Poeme in G sharp minor
  7. Two Compositions, Op. 7: No. 2 Feuillet d’album in G minor
  8. Quatre morceaux, Op. 9: No. 1 Feuillet d’album in B minor
  9. Deux morceaux, Op. 8: No. 2 Prelude in E minor
  10. Quatre morceaux, Op. 9: No. 4 Prelude in E minor
  11. Huit preludes, Op. 10: No. 2 in B minor
  12. Huit preludes, Op. 10: No. 5 in E major
  13. Huit preludes, Op. 10: No. 6 in E major
  14. Huit preludes, Op. 10: No. 8 in E minor
  15. Sonata, Op. 15, ‘In Memory of Skryabin’: Commodo –
  16. Sonata, Op. 15, ‘In Memory of Skryabin’: Misterioso –
  17. Sonata, Op. 15, ‘In Memory of Skryabin’: Risoluto

1 review for Leonid Sabaneyev: Piano Music

  1. :

    “All the music on this recording was composed between 1902 and 1915, and all are miniatures, except the prodigious Sonata, Op 15 In Memory of Scriabin, a huge half-hour-plus work written shortly after Scriabin’s death in the same year (1915). The short essays are a mixed bag of the late Romantic era and the emerging modern dissonant styles appearing at the dawn of the twentieth century, but the Sonata is in a class of its own. … For all its similarities to Scriabin, this Sonata is often described as original and highly significant, and is regarded as one of the major works in the piano genre of the time. This CD is a triumph for Jonathan Powell, who not only performs this rare repertoire with compelling dedication and zest, but also regales with an essay of the utmost brilliance, brimming with historic and musical details of inestimable value. A mightily impressive issue by any standard that rewards being listened to in a single session. I am eagerly looking forward to Volume 2.” –Music and Vision, November 2016

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.