Karol Rathaus: Piano Music, Volume One

Catalogue No: TOCC0511
EAN/UPC: 5060113445117
Release Date: 2019-03-15
Composer: Karol Rathaus
Artists: Daniel Wnukowski

Karol Rathaus (1895–1954), born on the eastern fringes of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, was one of the myriad Jewish composers who had to abandon a successful career in Europe, where he wrote for stage, screen and concert hall, and flee to the USA; there he earned his living in academia, working in obscurity. This first recording of his piano music reveals a powerful and individual voice, where echoes of his distant homeland colour a musical language that is striking for its harmonic tension and rhythmic energy.

Daniel Wnukowski, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Fünf Klavierstücke, Op. 9 (1924)

  1. I Andante
  2. II Allegro
  3. III Andante
  4. IV Durchaus gemächlich
  5. V Presto
  6. Piano Sonata No. 2, Op. 8 (1924; rev. 1927)

  7. I Allegro energico
  8. II Presto (rubato)
  9. III Andante con moto
  10. Trois Mazurkas, Op. 24 (1928)

  11. I Im Rhythmus einer Mazurka
  12. II Schnell, etwas flüchtig
  13. III Allegro vivace
  14. Zwei Stücke aus dem Ballet ‘Der letzte Pierrot’ (1926, arr. 1927)

  15. I Valse Sentimentale
  16. II Tanz der Arbeiter
  17. Three Excerpts from the Film Music for Der Mörder Dimitri Karamasoff (‘The Murderer Dimitri Karamazov’; 1931)

  18. Lied der Gruschenka
  19. Lied vom weissen Schwan
  20. Bei den Zigeunern

1 review for Karol Rathaus: Piano Music, Volume One

  1. :

    ‘It’s Polish-Canadian Daniel Wnukowski who shoulders the filmic, ballet, sonata and other burdens in the recital and he proves a most able exponent, suggesting Rathaus’ vitality and also his more crabbed, harmonically aloof self. If anyone is going to write a booklet note on this subject, it’s Michael Haas.’

    —Jonathan Woolf, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *