Julián Carrillo: Orchestral Music

Catalogue No: TOCC0583
EAN/UPC: 5060113445834
Release Date: 2020-11-06
Composer: Julián Carrillo
Artists: José Miramontes Zapata, Orquestra Sinfónica de San Luis Potosí

Although the Mexican composer Julián Carrillo (1875–1965) came to be remembered as a pioneer in the science of acoustics, the music he wrote in the first part of his career has a late-Romantic opulence and spaciousness that was very much of its age. Here his powerful and dignified Second Symphony, which sits somewhere between Bruckner, Wagner and Rachmaninov, is joined by two early pièces d’occasion and excerpts from his grand historical opera of 1910, Matilde, or Mexico in 1810, which marked the centenary of the Mexican War of Independence.

Orquesta Sinfónica de San Luis Potosí
José Miramontes Zapata, conductor

1 review for Julián Carrillo: Orchestral Music

  1. :

    ‘This disc proves as entertaining and revealing as the Sterling predecessor. […] Valuable and rewarding.’

    —Jonathan Woolf, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *