Jānis Ķepītis: Complete Music for Solo Piano, Volume One

Catalogue No: TOCC0721
EAN/UPC: 5060113447210
Release Date: 2024-04-05
Composer: Jānis Ķepītis
Artists: Nora Lūse

The Latvian composer Jānis Ķepītis (1908–89) has a fairly low profile even in his home country, never mind beyond its borders. His output was nonetheless substantial, with no fewer than six symphonies to his name, ten concertos, a number of large-scale choral-orchestral pieces, countless songs and choruses and a voluminous body of chamber music – almost all of it unknown. Ķepītis was himself a gifted pianist, and his hundred or so compositions for piano show a predilection for the miniature. The works here, discovered among his manuscripts, inhabit a world downstream from Skryabin and Rachmaninov, with a gentle hint of Debussy and an occasional wisp of Latvian folk-music.

Nora Lūse, piano

Listen To This Recording:

  1. Prelude in D-Flat Major (3:39)
  2. Prelude in F Minor (4:49)
  3. Prelude in F Minor (6:03)
  4. Prelude in C-Sharp Minor (3:26)
  5. Prelude in C Major (3:08)
  6. Caprice in A-Flat Major (3:05)
  7. Caprice No. 1 in E-Flat Major (1:42)
  8. Caprice No. 2 in C Major (3:08)
  9. Lullaby in A-Flat Major (2:51)
  10. Lullaby in F Major (2:25)
  11. Latvian Dance in G Major (3:23)
  12. .

  13. Elegy in A-Flat Major (5:02)
  14. Sketch in F-Sharp Minor (3:14)
  15. Eddy in F-Sharp Minor (3:35)
  16. Rest in the Garden in F Major (4:36)
  17. In the Evening in F-Sharp Minor (1:27)
  18. Autumn Sketch in B Minor (2:23)

Sonatine in B Major

  1. I. Moderato (1:18)
  2. II. Andante con moto (1:45)
  3. III. Allegretto (1:07)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Jānis Ķepītis: Complete Music for Solo Piano, Volume One”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *