HUMPHREY PROCTER-GREGG Chamber Music, Volume One

Catalogue No: TOCC0539
EAN/UPC: 5060113445391
Release Date: 2019-10-04
Composer: Humphrey Procter-Gregg
Artists: Andrew Long, Ian Buckle

The public persona of the English composer Humphrey Procter-Gregg (1895–1980) was that of an academic and administrator (he founded the Music Department of Manchester University), and he was held in high regard as a writer and a translator of opera. But his own music reveals a startling degree of energy and passion, perhaps reflecting his fondness for the outdoors. These violin sonatas point to an enthusiasm for Delius, particularly in their more wistful passages; more surprisingly, they also show a stylistic proximity to the music of Fauré.

Andrew Long, violin
Ian Buckle, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Violin Sonata No. 1 in A minor (c. 1934)

  1. I Allegro
  2. II Andante sostenuto
  3. III Allegro brioso
  4. Violin Sonata No. 2 in C major (c. 1943)

  5. I Allegro moderato
  6. II Con moto e scherzando
  7. III Molto moderato – Andante quasi Lento – Allegro con brio
  8. Violin Sonata No. 4 in D major (1969)

  9. I Allegro moderato
  10. II Andante
  11. III Andantino – Allegro giocoso


1 review for HUMPHREY PROCTER-GREGG Chamber Music, Volume One

  1. :

    ‘He is a subtle and deft player with a persuasively stylish approach to the repertoire and a fine tone. Ian Buckle is a concerto and ensemble player and clearly as attuned to the Francophile tendencies of some of Procter-Gregg’s writing as to its sturdier British qualities’

    —Jonathan Woolf, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *