George Loughlin: Chamber and Instrumental Music

This item will be released on 5 July 2024.

Catalogue No: TOCC0720
EAN/UPC: 5060113447203
Release Date: 2024-07-05
Composer: George Loughlin
Artists: Darlington String Quartet, Gladys Chua

The Liverpudlian George Loughlin (1914–84) was appointed professor of music at the University of Melbourne in 1958, remaining in that post for 21 years. That he was also a composer was generally unknown – a former colleague, hearing one of the pieces on this album, exclaimed: ‘That’s George?’ The earliest works here are audibly by an English composer, one who knew his Vaughan Williams, and blend an honest sincerity with fleet-footed wit. The approach of the later pieces is more philosophical and searching, the harmony more at ease with dissonance and the melodic lines more angular – in both peppy counterpoint and long-breathed lyricism.

Gladys Chua, piano
Darlington String Quartet

Listen To This Recording:

Introduction and Allegro for string quartet (1953) (10:30)

  1. Introduction (2:57)
  2. Allegro (7:23)

  1. Diversion for piano trio (early 1960s) (5:24)
  2. Folk Tune for Anne (1943) (2:29)

Sonatina for Violin and Piano (1976) (16:20)

  1. I. Allegro molto (4:29)
  2. II. Antiphon (3:38)
  3. III. Theme (1:08)
  4. III. Var. 1 Ostinato (1:25)
  5. III. Var 2 Bagatelle (0:56)
  6. III. Var. 3 Cortège (3:04)
  7. III. Var. 4 Carillon (1:40)

String Quartet in C (1939) (21:13)

  1. I. Allegro con brio (6:00)
  2. II. Presto (4:19)
  3. III. Andante con moto (4:44)
  4. IV. Allegro molto e giocoso (6:10)

Spring Trio (1957) (17:22)

  1. I. Allegro con brio (5:48)
  2. II. Andante con moto (5:47)
  3. III. Tarantella (5:47)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “George Loughlin: Chamber and Instrumental Music”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *