Ferenc Farkas: Music for Wind Ensemble

Toccata Classics continues its survey of the music of the Hungarian composer Ferenc Farkas (1905–2000) with this sparkling album of works for wind ensemble – from chamber groups to full-blown wind bands. The chief characteristics of all eight scores recorded here are infectious good humour and a high charge of foot-tapping rhythmic energy.

Budapest Wind Symphony
László Marosi, conductor


Catalogue No: TOCC0349
EAN/UPC: 5060113443496
Release Date: 01.02.2017
Composer: Ferenc Farkas
Artists: Budapest Wind Symphony, László Marosi

Listen To This Recording:

    Early Hungarian Dances from the 17th Century (1943) * arr. László Zempléni (2015)

  1. I. Intrada
  2. II. Slow Dance
  3. III. Dance of Lazar Apor
  4. IV. Dance of the Prince of Transylvania
  5. V. Leaping Dance
  6. The Sly Students: Suite (1949)* arr. Tony Kurmann (2013)

  7. I. Fair in Debrecen
  8. II. Air de danse
  9. III. Students’ Dance
  10. IV. Gypsy Music
  11. V. Pas de deux
  12. VI. Finale
  13. Timon of Athens: Suite (1935/38)* arr. Tony Kurmann (2014)

  14. I. Alcibiade’s March
  15. II. Dinner Music
  16. III. Dance
  17. Intrada, Passacaglia, Saltarello (1982)*

  18. I. Intrada
  19. II. Passacaglia
  20. III. Saltarello
  21. Tower Music from Nyírbátor (‘Little Tower Music’) (1967)

  22. Tower Music from Nyírbátor
  23. Contrafacta Hungarica (1973–74, arr. 1976)

  24. I. Basse danse
  25. II. Gagliarda
  26. III. Passamezzo
  27. IV. Saltarello
  28. V. Intemezzo
  29. VI. Hajdutanc
  30. Musica per Ottoni (1982)

  31. I. Allegro
  32. II. Adagio
  33. III. Allegro
  34. Csínom Palkó: Mischievous Tune (1949)* arr. János Eördögh (1959)/Tony Kurmann (2014)

  35. Csínom Palkó: Mischievous Tune

*First Recordings


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Ferenc Farkas: Music for Wind Ensemble”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *