Gabriel Fauré: Songs for Bass Voice and Piano

Gabriel Fauré: Songs for Bass Voice and Piano

This collection of Fauré’s mélodies – the first recording to be conceived for a bass voice – juxtaposes some of the composer’s best-loved songs with some of his lesser-known works. Going beyond the often arbitrary ordering of early editions, this programme draws out connections of poets and poetic themes, some of which restore the composer’s own original groupings. This is the first recording to be based on the new Peters Edition, which eliminates countless errors in older publications.

Jared Schwartz, bass; Roy Howat, piano;

Select a Format:

Catalogue No: TOCC0268
EAN/UPC: 5060113442680
Release Date: 04.09.2015
Composer: Gabriel Fauré
Artists: Jared Schwartz, Roy Howat

Listen To This Recording:

  1. Hymne
  2. La rançon
  3. Chant d’automne
  4. Tristesse
  5. L’absent
  6. Le parfum impérissable, Op. 76, No. 1
  7. Sérénade toscane
  8. Après un rêve
  9. Les matelots
  10. La chanson du pêcheur (Lamento)
  11. Mandoline, Op. 58, No. 1
  12. En sourdine, Op. 58, No. 2
  13. Prison, Op. 68, No. 1
  14. Dans la forêt de septembre, Op. 85, No. 1
  15. Tristesse d’Olympio
  16. Aurore, Op. 39, No. 1
  17. La fleur qui va sur l’eau, Op. 85, No. 2
  18. Fleur jetée, Op. 39, No. 2
  19. Le don silencieux, Op. 92
  20. Nocturne, Op. 43, No. 2
  21. Les présents, Op. 46, No. 1
  22. Au bord de l’eau
  23. Ici-bas
  24. Barcarolle
  25. Le Voyageur, Op. 18, No. 2

2 reviews for Gabriel Fauré: Songs for Bass Voice and Piano

  1. :

    “… accompanist Roy Howat is a specialist in French music and studied in Paris with Vlado Perlemuter, who worked with Fauré. The prerequisites for an idiomatic recording of the piano parts for these Fauré songs is thus well catered for. …
    Jared Schwartz, who is a true bass, is in many ways an expressive singer, and in the middle and upper part of his register he is sensitive and nuanced. … It is also gratifying to have the complete texts with English translations. …
    To sum up: largely well considered readings” —Music Web International, November 2015

  2. :

    “There are a total of 25 songs on this disc and each of them has been recorded with care and affection for the music of this wonderful French songwriter of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. … Schwartz’s excellent new recording on Toccata gives us pristine sound and offers flac downloads as well as CDs. This is a recording that should be in the collection of everyone who loves French song.” —Fanfare Magazine, March/April 2016

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *