Eduard NÁPRAVNÍK: Chamber Music, Volume One: Music for Violin and Piano

Catalogue No: TOCC0305
EAN/UPC: 5060113443052
Release Date: 2020-07-03
Composer: Eduard Nápravník
Artists: Lana Trotovšek, Ludmil Angelov

The Czech-born Eduard Nápravník (1839–1916) became one of the pivotal figures in the musical life of nineteenth-century Russia: as conductor of the Imperial Mariinsky Opera in St Petersburg, he gave the premieres of some of the most important Russian operas, among them Musorgsky’s Boris Godunov, six by Tchaikovsky and nine by Rimsky-Korsakov. But his own music has largely been lost from sight – a fate it emphatically does not deserve, as these three works for violin and piano prove: big-hearted and big-boned, replete with passionate Tchaikovskian melody, they reveal a composer ripe for rediscovery.

Lana Trotovšek, violin
Ludmil Angelov, piano

First Recordings

Listen To This Recording:

    Violin Sonata in G major, Op. 52 (1890)

  1. I Andante sostenuto – Allegro
  2. II Scherzo: Vivace – Meno mosso – Tempo di Scherzo
  3. III Andantino doloroso
  4. IV Allegro con fuoco
  5. Suite for Violin and Piano, Op. 60 (1896)

  6. I Molto moderato – Allegro moderato
  7. II Scherzo. Allegro vivo
  8. III Elegie. Molto moderato
  9. IV Tarantella. Vivace
  10. Four Pieces for Violin and Piano, Op. 64 (1898)

  11. No. 1 Nocturne
  12. No. 2 Valse-caprice
  13. No. 3 Mélodie russe
  14. No. 4 Scherzo espagnol


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Eduard NÁPRAVNÍK: Chamber Music, Volume One: Music for Violin and Piano”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *