David Hackbridge Johnson: Orchestral Music, Volume One

David Hackbridge Johnson: Orchestral Music, Volume One

The English composer David Hackbridge Johnson (b. 1963) has been, until now, one of the best-kept secrets in music, building up a huge catalogue of works completely unknown even within the classical world. Learning the orchestra from the inside, as a player, he has developed a confident and powerful language inherited in part from Brian, Copland, Janáček, Rubbra, Sibelius, Simpson, Tippett and other such masters, capable of bold strokes of colour and gripping dramatic gestures, often informed by a grim sense of humour, all given purpose by a masterly control of long-term symphonic tension.

“This is some of the most exciting new orchestral music that has ever come my way. David writes with complete mastery and meticulous craftsmanship, and above all packs an immense emotional punch.” —Paul Mann

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Paul Mann, conductor

This item will be released on 1 March 2017.
Select a Format:

Catalogue No: TOCC0393
EAN/UPC: 5060113443939
Release Date: 01.03.2017
Composer: David Hackbridge Johnson
Artists: Paul Mann, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “David Hackbridge Johnson: Orchestral Music, Volume One”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *