Vytautas Bacevičius: Piano Music, Volume One


Catalogue No: TOCC0134
EAN/UPC: 5060113441348
Release Date: 13.02.2012
Composer: Vytautas Bacevičius
Artists: Gabrielius Alekna, Matthew Lewis, Ursula Oppens

The Lithuanian pianist and composer Vytautas Bacevičius (1905-70) is one of the undiscovered pioneers of twentieth-century music. His series of seven Mots ('Words') for keyboard — five for solo piano, one for organ and one for two pianos — were written between 1933 and 1966 and show the evolution of his musical language from the post-Skryabin style of the early works, via the influence of Prokofiev and Stravinsky, to a highly individual modernism, akin to that of two fellow radicals, Varése and Wolpe.

Gabrielius Alekna, piano
Matthew Lewis, organ
Ursula Oppens, piano

2 reviews for Vytautas Bacevičius: Piano Music, Volume One

  1. :

    “An impressive release all around, and a perfect demonstration of the good work Toccata Classics is doing in giving voice to under-appreciated composers.” —Gavin Dixon, Fanfare

  2. :

    “…Abstract, strong, interesting.” WRUV Reviews

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.