Boris Tchaikovsky: Song-Cycles and Chamber Music

(2 customer reviews)

Catalogue No: TOCC0046
EAN/UPC: 5060113440464
Release Date: 2009-03-12
Composer: Boris Tchaikovsky
Artists: Alexey Khutoriansky, Kiril Ershov, Lev Serov, Marina Archakova, Olga Filonova, Olga Solovieva, Svetlana Nikolaeva

Boris Tchaikovsky (1925-96) – no relation to his better-known namesake – was one of the leading Russian composers of the twentieth century. A student of Shebalin, Shostakovich and Myaskovsky at the Moscow Conservatory, Tchaikovsky soon evolved an individual style that steered clear of ideology and fashion. Paradoxically, the apparent simplification of his musical language and growing refinement of its gestures sharpened its emotional impact. Tchaikovsky’s music has recently been attracting attention in the West; this CD closes some of the gapes in his growing discography.

Olga Filonova, soprano
Svetlana Nikolaeva, mezzo soprano
Olga Solovieva, piano
Kirill Ershov, Balalaika
Alexey Khutoriansky, violin
Lev Serov, viola
Marina Archakova, cello

Listen To This Recording:

    Four Poems of Josef Brodsky, for soprano and piano (1965)

  1. 1. ‘Dialogue’
  2. 2. ‘Lyrics’
  3. 3. ‘Farewell and Forget’
  4. 4. ‘Stanzas’
  5. From Kipling, for mezzo soprano and viola (1994)

  6. 1. ‘Far-Off Amazon’
  7. 2. ‘Homer’
  8. Trio for violin, viola and cello (1955)

  9. I. Allegro marcato
  10. II. Andante
  11. III. Allegretto
  12. Two Poems by Mikhail Lermontov, for soprano and piano (1940)

  13. 1. ‘Autumn’
  14. 2. ‘Pine Tree’
  15. Two Pieces for Balalaika and Piano (1991)

  16. I. Joke
  17. II. Landscape
  18. Lyrics of Pushkin, for soprano and piano (1972)

  19. 1. ‘Echo’
  20. 2. ‘A Gift Unneeded’
  21. 3. ‘Talisman’
  22. 4. ‘To the Poet’
  23. 5. ‘Your Image’
  24. 6. ‘If you were deceived by life’
  25. 7. ‘Work’
  26. 8. ‘I don’t value highly’

2 reviews for Boris Tchaikovsky: Song-Cycles and Chamber Music

  1. :

    Toccata Classics immediately reinforces my impression of Tchaikovsky as first rate with a new CD containing Song-Cycles and Chamber Music (TOCC 0046). The songs, based upon poems by Josef Brodsky, Mikhail Lermontov, Pushkin, and Kipling are full of character, highly expressive and attractively melodic. The Trio for violin, viola and cello shows that Tchaikovsky wrote on as high a level for chamber groups as he did for symphony orchestra. The Two Pieces for Balalaika and Piano, written in 1991, are a sheer delight. This is the kind of discovery that sends me on a crusade. I am embarking on an effort to find as much of this man’s music as I can.

  2. :

    ‘The quality of the music and the very fine performances make this well-filled release a must for all admirers. Boris Tchaikovsky’s music definitely deserves to be much better known. It is encouraging, too, to see brand new recordings such as these filling the gaps. More please.’

    —Hubert Culot, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *