Andrew Anderson: A Lenten Cantata and Other Choral Works

Catalogue No: TOCC0635
EAN/UPC: 5060113446350
Release Date: 2022-01-07
Composer: Andrew Anderson
Artists: Hugh Fullarton, Peter Tregear, Stanislav Vavřínek, The Consort of Melbourne

In spite of the differences of time and distance, the choral works of the Australian composer Andrew Anderson (born in Melbourne in 1971) further the English cathedral tradition of such composers as Finzi and Howells, in music concerned particularly with lyricism and with clarity and directness of expression.

Rebecca Rashleigh, soprano (Track 5)
Sally-Anne Russell, mezzo-soprano (Tracks 3, 17)
Christopher Watson, tenor (Track 3)
Eddie Muliaumaseali’i, bass (Track 7)
The Consort of Melbourne (Tracks 2, 4, 6, 8, 9–16)
Janáček Philharmonic Orchestra (Tracks 1-3, 5-8, 17)
Pavel Doležal, violin (Track 4)
Stanislav Vavřínek, conductor (Tracks 1–3, 5–8, 17)
Hugh Fullarton, organ (Tracks 9, 15, 16)
Peter Tregear, choirmaster (Tracks 2, 4, 6, 8), conductor (Tracks 9–16)

Listen To This Recording:

    A Lenten Cantata (2017; orch. 2020)

  1. I Prelude: Meditation on Aberystwyth
  2. II As for me
  3. III Evening, and morning, and at noon
  4. IV Jesu, lover of my soul
  5. V Cast thy burden
  6. VI Other refuge have I none
  7. VII Come unto me
  8. VIII Plenteous grace with thee is found
  9. Two Communion Anthems (2014)

  10. No. 1 On the Road
  11. No. 2 Once for All
  12. This is my Son (2014)
  13. There is one body (2019)
  14. Carol (2019)
  15. I sing in my heart (2020)
  16. Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis (2018)

  17. Magnificat
  18. Nunc dimittis
  19. I gave my Lord an Apple (2016; orch. 2020)

  20. I Gave my Lord an Apple



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Andrew Anderson: A Lenten Cantata and Other Choral Works”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *