Agnes Zimmermann: The Violin Sonatas

Catalogue No: TOCC0541
EAN/UPC: 5060113445414
Release Date: 2020-05-01
Composer: Agnes Zimmermann
Artists: Mathilde Milwidsky, Sam Haywood

Born in Cologne, Agnes Zimmermann (1847–1925) settled in London as a child. She made her concert debut in 1863, playing the ‘Emperor’ Concerto, and was soon celebrated as one of Europe’s more important pianists, her partners in chamber music including Clara Schumann, Joseph Joachim, Alfredo Piatti and Wilma Neruda, Lady Hallé. She enjoyed a reputation also as teacher, music editor and composer. At the centre of her modest output of compositions are three substantial violin sonatas. Dramatic and lyrical by turn, and always beautifully crafted, they lie somewhere between Mendelssohn and Brahms, but demonstrate an impressively personal musical voice.

Mathilde Milwidsky, violin
Sam Haywood, piano


Listen To This Recording:

    Sonata for Piano and Violin No. 3 in G minor, Op. 23 (1879)

  1. I Allegro moderato
  2. II Andante affetuoso
  3. III Scherzo: Allegro grazioso
  4. IV Finale: Allegro appassionato
  5. Sonata for Piano and Violin No. 2 in A minor, Op. 21 (1875)

  6. I Allegro assai
  7. II Scherzo: Allegro scherzando
  8. III Andante cantabile
  9. IV Finale: Allegro grazioso
  10. Sonata for Piano and Violin No. 1 in D minor, Op. 16 (1868)

  11. I Allegro
  12. II Scherzo: Allegro grazioso
  13. III Andante tranquillo
  14. IV Finale: Allegro vivace


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Agnes Zimmermann: The Violin Sonatas”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *