Krzysztof Meyer: Complete Works for Cello and Piano

Krzysztof Meyer, born in Kraków in 1943 and a student of Penderecki, Lutosławski and Nadia Boulanger, is one of the leading Polish composers of the day. His music marries a powerful sense of drama with a long-breathed lyricism in a largely tonal framework, placing him downstream from Shostakovich, who was a friend and supporter of the young composer. Of his two cello sonatas (1983 and 2004) and Canzona (1981), Meyer writes, 'I wanted the melody to be predominant — not a post-Romantic cantilena but absolutely contemporary. And the cello, like no other instrument, is perfect for that'.

Evva Mizerska, cello
Emma Abbate, piano
Katarzyna Glensk, piano


Catalogue No: TOCC0098
EAN/UPC: 5060113440983
Release Date: 06.07.2009
Composer: Krzysztof Meyer
Artists: Emma Abbate, Evva Mizerska, Katarzyna Glensk


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Krzysztof Meyer: Complete Works for Cello and Piano”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *