Viktor Stepanovych Kosenko: Piano Music Volume One

(7 customer reviews)

Catalogue No: TOCC0036
EAN/UPC: 5060113440365
Release Date: 2006-01-01
Composer: Viktor Stepanovych Kosenko
Artists: Natalya Shkoda

Viktor Stepanovych Kosenko (1896–1938) was one of the most important Ukrainian composers and pianists of the first half of the twentieth century. His Eleven Etudes in the Form of Old Dances, Op. 19, of 1927–29 offer an organic synthesis of the late-Romantic piano tradition, neo-Classical impulses in their use of Baroque dance-forms, and elements of Ukrainian folk-music. This recording of a neglected monument in the piano literature is the first step in the discovery of a composer who was once a cultural icon in his native Ukraine but is now as good as unknown outside its borders.

Natalya Shkoda, piano

Listen To This Recording:

    Eleven Etudes in the Form of Old Dances, Op. 19 (1927)

  1. Gavotte in D flat Major (Allegro mosso)
  2. Allemande in B flat major (Moderato)
  3. Menuet in G major (Allegretto)
  4. Courante in E minor (Vivace)
  5. Sarabande in A minor (Adagio)
  6. Bourrée in A major (Allegro)
  7. Gavotte in B minor (Allegro moderato)
  8. Rigaudon in C major (Vivace)
  9. Menuet in E flat major (Allegretto)
  10. Passacaglia in C minor (Andante con grandezza)
  11. Gigue in D minor (Presto)

7 reviews for Viktor Stepanovych Kosenko: Piano Music Volume One

  1. :

    ‘Don’t be afraid at all to go after this recorded-in-America performance by a Ukrainian pianist, with music composed by a Ukraininan composer on a disc with outstanding documentation manufactured in England! Five stars and totally recommended.’

    —Lance G. Hill, Klassical Music Guide

  2. :

    ‘This is the first recording of Eleven Etudes in the form of Old Dances to be made outside Ukraine – although the Ukrainian-born pianist Natalya Shkoda, making her recording debut, retains a geographic link. If this disk, volume one of Kosenko’s piano music with at least two more disks planned, is anything to go by it is a great shame that these works have received such limited attention. These lyrical, accessible pieces were composed between 1927-1929. They make no secret of Kosenko’s Ukrainian folk music influences but also stay roughly true to the dance forms such as bourrées, sarabandes, gavottes and menuets that he employs.’

    —Maggie Williams, International Piano

  3. :

    ‘This is immensely attractive music that has been rescued from obscurity by Toccata Classics and Natalya Shkoda.’

    —Colin Anderson, Classical Source

  4. :

    ‘Natalya Shkoda, the marvelous pianist on this disc, is herself a Ukrainian currently living in Texas. She makes a convincing advocate for this wonderful music. We are told this is ‘Volume 1′ of Kosenko’s piano music and I for one am eager to hear more.’

    —J. Scott Morrison, —Amazon Review

  5. :

    This is a revelation: Bach meets Bulghakov. Not to be missed, and very well played. The final Gigue is a truly virtuosic piece.

  6. :

    Another great Toccata find. It made me look for the scores to try some of this myself.

  7. :

    ‘The recording conveys an extremely natural piano sound.

    This is serious-minded music-making despatched with total and eloquent identification by Shkoda. The music sings in a skein of convincingly meshed earlier classical styles which are made to meet and interact with Chopin and Rachmaninov.’

    —Rob Barnett, MusicWeb International

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *